LafargeHolcim Foundation Promoting and Rewarding Sustainable Construction


LafargeHolcim Foundation Board

Board of the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction meeting at the 15th …
Board of the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction meeting at the 15th International Architecture Biennale in Venice curated by Alejandro Aravena (l-r): Enrique Norten, Marc Angélil, Maria Atkinson, Roland Köhler, Alejandro Aravena, Marilyne Andersen, Simon Upton, Rolf Soiron, Harry Gugger and Eric Olsen. Not pictured: Gérard Kuperfarb and Brinda Somaya.

The Board of the LafargeHolcim Foundation ensures that the activities of the LafargeHolcim Foundation are aligned with current interpretations of sustainable construction, and also inspires the Foundation’s approach by framing the architectural, scientific, cultural, and policy concerns that are integrated into its initiatives. The Board defines the strategies through which the LafargeHolcim Foundation encourages innovative approaches to sustainable construction.


Within the Board, the Steering Committee (pictured left) is responsible for managing the budget, defining and realizing initiatives, and monitoring outcomes of the Foundation’s activities.

The members of the Steering Committee form the legal Board of Trustees (Stiftungsrat) of the Foundation, according to Swiss law. The members of the Board of the LafargeHolcim Foundation are:



Rolf Soiron
CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD Rolf Soiron Member, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and Chairman of the Board, Lonza Group, Switzerland Read more »
Eric Olsen
CHAIRMAN OF THE STEERING COMMITTEE Eric Olsen * CEO, LafargeHolcim, Switzerland Read more »
Marilyne Andersen
Marilyne Andersen * Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies and Dean of Architecture, Civil & Environmental Engineering, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland Read more »
Marc Angélil
Marc Angélil * Architect and Professor of Architecture & Design, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich), Switzerland Read more »
Alejandro Aravena
Alejandro Aravena Partner Architect & Executive Director, Elemental, Chile Read more »
Maria Atkinson AM
Maria Atkinson AM Sustainability Business Advisor and Founding CEO, Green Building Council of Australia Read more »
Harry Gugger
Harry Gugger * Professor of Architectural & Urban Design and head, Laboratoire Bâle (laba), École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL); and Principal, Harry Gugger Studio, Switzerland Read more »
Roland Köhler
Roland Köhler * Executive Committee member responsible for Europe & Australia/New Zealand & Trading, LafargeHolcim, Switzerland Read more »
Gérard Kuperfarb
Gérard Kuperfarb * Executive Committee member responsible for Growth and Innovation, LafargeHolcim, France Read more »
Enrique Norten
Enrique Norten Principal and Founder, TEN Arquitectos, Mexico/USA Read more »
Brinda Somaya
Brinda Somaya Principal Architect & Managing Director, Somaya & Kalappa Consultants, India Read more »
Simon Upton
Simon Upton Director of the OECD Environment Directorate, New Zealand/France Read more »
*= Member of the Steering Committee (Stiftungsrat) of the Foundation
Walls don't work
Walls don't work

Considering current debates on the possible erection of a wall along the border of the United States and Mexico, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for…

LafargeHolcim Foundation
for Sustainable Construction
Hagenholzstrasse 85
8050 Zurich
Phone +41 58 858 82 92
Fax +41 58 858 82 99
Send Email »